Upcoming Events

FondVisuelSite.png

Eurobic Congress in 2022 to take place on UGA campus in July 2022

Information here

RSVP

Presentation of the Institute of Metals in Biology of Grenoble.

logo6.jpg

Objectives of the Federation

An institute without a wall, the Institut des Métaux en Biologie (IMBG) is defined as a thematic research network, bringing together a large community of Grenoble researchers and teacher-researchers whose common point is a scientific project: Chemistry and Biology metals in living systems. This rapidly developing theme represents a vast field of investigation since more than a third of the proteins in a cell require the fixation of a metal ion for essential functions such as respiration, photosynthesis, the biosynthesis of metallo enzymes or the DNA repair. These systems are for the researchers of the IMBG a source of studies but also of bioinspiration which is in full swing.

More precisely, the IMBG is part of three main areas of research:

- metalloenzymes and model chemical systems (catalysis),

- toxic metals and metal pollutants, toxicology and bioremediation (environment),

- metals, metabolism and nutrition (health).

The IMBG now has more than 200 members, including around forty doctoral students from 11 laboratories in 23 teams located on the three Grenoble sites of the University of Grenoble Alpes (DCM, LBFA, ISTerre, LTHE, GIN), the CHU of Grenoble (IBP, IAB) and the Scientific Polygon (ESRF, IBS, LCBM, LPCV, SyMMES).

The IMBG brings together forces of the highest scientific quality and hosts collaborative projects at the chemistry / biology, physics / biology or chemistry / physics interfaces. The strength of the IMBG lies in the voluntary adherence of its members to a common scientific theme instead of being the association of research units. Its primary ambition for nearly 20 years has been to strengthen the visibility of this scientific community at national and international level.

The activities of the Institute are divided into three components:

- scientific activities in the Grenoble area to bring together and unite the scientific community working around metals.

- training young scientists, using two tools: the “Annual IMBG Days” and the establishment of thematic schools alongside the biannual IMBG International Congresses. The program of these thematic schools includes theoretical courses and practical lessons given by international, national or Grenoble guests in a Gordon conference format.

- the contribution to the visibility "outside the hexagon" of the University by the organization of international congresses. To date more than 12 congresses have been organized (see site).

Committee

photo Ménage imbg.jpg
photo Chaumery Nathalie_imbg.jpg
Photo Belle imbg.png

Stéphane Ménage

Director

Member of the steering committee

Nathalie Chaumery

Secretariat

Catherine Belle

Member of the steering committee

unnamed.png

Patrice Catty

Member of the steering committee

photo Pascale Delangle IMBG.jpg

Pascale Delangle

Member of the steering committee

Photos michaud-soret 2 imbg.jpg

Isabelle Michaud-Soret

Member of the steering committee

Webmaster

photo G Sarret imbg.jpg

Geraldine Sarret

Member of the steering committee

Photo Thomas imbg.png

Fabrice Thomas

Member of the steering committee

Photo Uzu imbg.jpg

Gaelle Uzu

Member of the steering committee

Evènements à venir

FondVisuelSite.png

Le congrès EuroBIC-16 aura lieu sur le campus de l’UGA du 17 au 21 juillet 2022

Informations ici

RSVP

Présentation de l’Institut des Métaux en Biologie de Grenoble

logo6.jpg

Objectifs de la Fédération

Institut sans mur, l’Institut des Métaux en Biologie (IMBG) se définit comme un réseau thématique de recherche, rassemblant une large communauté grenobloise de chercheurs et d’enseignants-chercheurs dont le point commun est un projet scientifique : la Chimie et la Biologie des métaux dans les systèmes vivants. Cette thématique en plein développement représente un vaste champ d’investigation puisque plus d’un tiers des protéines d’une cellule requiert la fixation d’un ion métallique pour des fonctions essentielles comme la respiration, la photosynthèse, la biosynthèse de métallo enzymes ou la réparation de l’ADN. Ces systèmes sont pour les chercheurs de l’IMBG une source d’études mais aussi de bioinspiration qui est en plein essor. 

Plus précisément, l’IMBG s’inscrit dans trois grands axes de recherche :

- métalloenzymes et systèmes chimiques modèles (catalyse),

- métaux toxiques et polluants métalliques, toxicologie et bioremédiation (environnement),

- métaux, métabolisme et nutrition (santé).

L’IMBG comprend aujourd’hui plus de 200 membres dont une quarantaine de doctorants issus de 11 laboratoires dans 23 équipes localisées sur les trois sites grenoblois que sont l’Université Grenoble Alpes (DCM, LBFA, ISTerre, LTHE, GIN), le CHU de Grenoble (IBP, IAB) et le Polygone scientifique (ESRF, IBS, LCBM, LPCV, SyMMES).

L’IMBG rassemble des forces de toute première qualité scientifique et abrite des projets collaboratifs aux interfaces chimie/biologie, physique/biologie ou chimie/physique. La force de l’IMBG réside dans l’adhésion volontaire de ses membres à un thème scientifique commun au lieu d’être l’association d’unités de recherche. Son ambition première depuis près de 20 ans est de renforcer la visibilité de cette communauté scientifique au niveau national et international.

Les activités de l’Institut se déclinent selon en trois volets :

- l’animation scientifique sur le bassin grenoblois pour rassembler et souder la communauté scientifique travaillant autour des métaux.

- la formation des jeunes scientifiques, à l’aide de deux outils : les « Journées annuelles de l’IMBG » et la mise en place d’écoles thématiques accolées aux Congrès internationaux biannuels de l’IMBG. Le programme de ces écoles thématiques comprend des cours théoriques et des enseignements pratiques donnés par des invités internationaux, nationaux ou grenoblois dans un format type Gordon conférences.

- la contribution à la visibilité « hors-hexagone » de l’Université par l’organisation de congrès internationaux. A ce jour plus de 12 congrès ont été organisés (voir site).

Comité

photo Ménage imbg.jpg
photo Chaumery Nathalie_imbg.jpg
Photo Belle imbg.png

Stéphane Ménage

Directeur

Membre du comité de pilotage

Nathalie Chaumery

Secrétariat

Catherine Belle

Membre du comité de pilotage

unnamed.png

Patrice Catty

Membre du comité de pilotage

photo Pascale Delangle IMBG.jpg

Pascale Delangle

Membre du comité de pilotage

Photos michaud-soret 2 imbg.jpg

Isabelle Michaud-Soret

Membre du comité de pilotage

Webmaster

photo G Sarret imbg.jpg

Géraldine Sarret

Membre du comité de pilotage

Photo Thomas imbg.png

Fabrice Thomas

Membre du comité de pilotage

Photo Uzu imbg.jpg

Gaelle Uzu

Membre du comité de pilotage